What is Rapido Ownly, and should restaurants list on it?
Ownly is Rapido's food delivery app. Restaurants pay no commission, listing fee, subscription or marketing charge. Customers pay the menu price plus a delivery fee, which Rapido delivers through its existing rider network.
For a restaurant in a city where it operates, listing is worth it as an extra channel:
- The per-order economics are strong. Even priced 15% below your aggregator menu, an Ownly order can earn more than 40% more than the same order on Swiggy or Zomato.
- The risks are volume and stability. Ownly is live in only two cities, does not publish order volumes, and has already changed its restaurant terms twice.
List on Ownly, price it deliberately, and keep Swiggy and Zomato as your core channels until the volume is proven.
What Ownly Is and Where It Operates
Ownly is run by a wholly owned Rapido subsidiary and uses Rapido's riders, the same network that runs its bike-taxi and auto business, for delivery. The idea is that riders already on the road, especially in off-peak hours, can deliver food at a lower cost than a dedicated delivery fleet.
| When | Milestone |
|---|---|
| June 2025 | Rapido announces Ownly and proposes fixed per-order fees to restaurants |
| August 2025 | Pilot in Koramangala, HSR Layout and BTM Layout, Bengaluru |
| March 2026 | Citywide launch in Bengaluru with zero restaurant-side fees; about 20,000 restaurant partners reported |
| July 2026 | Ownly goes live inside the main Rapido app, alongside the standalone app |
| September 2026 | Launch in Hyderabad, its second city |
Rapido has named Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Pune and Chennai among its targets but has not confirmed timelines. If your outlets are outside Bengaluru and Hyderabad, the decision is not yet yours to make. Use this guide to be ready when Ownly reaches your city.
What Restaurants Pay
Under the current model, restaurants pay nothing to Ownly per order: no commission, no listing or subscription fee, no marketing charge, and no fee for visibility. Customers pay the delivery fee. Reports put this at a flat ₹30 per order, though earlier coverage described a per-kilometre fee, so check the current structure in the app.
The terms have changed quickly, and that history matters when you plan around them:
| Stage | Restaurant pays |
|---|---|
| June 2025 proposal | Fixed fee of ₹25 per order up to ₹400 and ₹50 above, plus a contribution toward delivery |
| August 2025 pilot | Delivery cost: ₹29.50 on orders of ₹100–₹400, ₹59 above ₹400 |
| March 2026 onward | Nothing; customers pay delivery |
Rapido has said it does not expect to make money from Ownly at first and plans to earn a small margin on delivery from customers over time. A model with almost no revenue may not stay this generous. Expect terms to change again.
The Per-Order Economics
Your aggregator menu prices already include room for commission. Ownly does not charge commission, so you can price lower there and still earn more. When Ownly launched, its food was reported to be about 15% cheaper than on Swiggy and Zomato.
Take a dish priced at ₹400 on the aggregators, with ₹128 food cost and ₹20 packaging, and an aggregator commission of 25% plus 18% GST:
| Per order | Swiggy / Zomato at ₹400 | Ownly at ₹340 (15% lower) |
|---|---|---|
| Price to customer | ₹400 | ₹340 |
| Commission and GST on it | −₹118 | ₹0 |
| Food cost | −₹128 | −₹128 |
| Packaging | −₹20 | −₹20 |
| Contribution | ₹134 | ₹192 |
Even after cutting the price by 15%, the Ownly order earns ₹58 more, about 43% more than the aggregator order. The comparison excludes aggregator discounts and ads, which usually widen the gap further. Your actual aggregator take rate is on your payout statement; see how to read it. Payment-processing charges on Ownly, if any, were not reported, so confirm them when you sign up.
Ownly vs Swiggy, Zomato and ONDC
| Swiggy / Zomato | ONDC | Rapido Ownly | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant pays | Commission, usually 18–30%, plus GST, ads and discounts | Seller and buyer app fees, delivery, small network fee | Nothing under current terms |
| Customer pays | Menu price plus delivery and platform fees | Varies by buyer app | Menu price plus delivery fee |
| Discounts and ads | Central to visibility | Depend on buyer app | Built without discounts; competes on price |
| Demand | Very high | Thin, concentrated in some cities | Not disclosed; two cities |
| Delivery | Platform fleet | Network logistics or your own | Rapido riders |
| Stability of terms | Established, revised periodically | Network rules still evolving | Changed twice in its first year |
Ownly and ONDC solve the same problem in different ways. Both offer a lower-cost alternative to the big two. ONDC spreads demand across many apps; Ownly brings demand from one app with a very large user base, since Rapido's ride users outnumber online food customers. For more on ONDC, see whether ONDC is worth listing on.
The Risks to Weigh
- Volume is unknown. Rapido has not published Ownly order numbers. Treat early orders as a bonus, not a forecast.
- Terms can change. A platform that earns little from restaurants today may add fees once it has scale. Do not reprice your whole business around today's terms.
- Food delivery is hard to sustain. Ola's Foodpanda and Uber Eats India both exited despite having large rider networks. Ownly's lower cost base is a real advantage, but not a guarantee.
- Ownership ties. Swiggy has been a significant shareholder in Rapido, which complicates how the two will compete.
- Customer data. Rapido promised to share customer data with restaurants. Confirm what you will actually receive before treating Ownly as a retention channel.
How to List and Price on Ownly
- Check your POS first. Ownly has been reported to integrate with POS systems including UrbanPiper and Rista. Taking orders through your existing POS avoids another tablet and missed orders.
- Read your aggregator agreements. Check for price-parity or exclusivity terms before listing lower prices elsewhere, especially if you receive exclusivity benefits.
- Price deliberately. Start 10–15% below your aggregator menu. That is enough for customers to notice and still earns more per order, as the table above shows.
- Use your delivery menu. List the same travel-friendly dishes you sell on the aggregators, not your full dine-in menu.
- Protect peak hours. If Ownly orders start delaying your Swiggy and Zomato orders, pause Ownly first. Aggregator rankings punish late and rejected orders. See how the Swiggy ranking algorithm works.
- Review after 60 days. Track Ownly orders per week, contribution per order and any effect on aggregator performance, then decide whether to grow it.
Ownly also changes the comparison with your own channel. If you were planning WhatsApp or website ordering mainly to escape commission, compare it with Ownly's economics first. See direct ordering vs Swiggy and Zomato.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Rapido Ownly charge restaurants commission?
No. Under the terms in place since March 2026, restaurants pay no commission, listing, subscription or marketing fees. Customers pay the delivery fee. Earlier versions of Ownly did charge restaurants fixed per-order fees, so check the current terms when you sign up.
Which cities is Ownly available in?
As of the latest reports, Bengaluru and Hyderabad. Rapido has named other large cities, including Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Pune and Chennai, as targets but has not confirmed launch dates.
Should I price my menu lower on Ownly than on Swiggy and Zomato?
Usually yes. Your aggregator prices include room for commission, which Ownly does not charge. Pricing 10–15% lower still earns more per order and gives customers a reason to choose Ownly. Check your aggregator agreements for price-parity terms first.
Deciding where Ownly fits in your channel mix? Plateful Consulting models Ownly, ONDC, direct ordering and the aggregators on your real order and margin data, so you price each channel for profit. Book a consultation.
